Welcome to our unique pub and restaurant located in an 18th century watermill, and situated in extensive natural gardens.
Situated in beautiful surroundings, The Watermill nestles on the Old Coach Road in Lelant, near St Ives & Hayle, in extensive gardens with a stunning panorama across open countryside.
The mill was built in the late 1700s by the Trevethow Manor Estate. Operating as a grain mill, it supplied the growing population employed in the foundries and other industries in Hayle and surrounding areas.
The mill processed grain until around 1880 and was then converted to pump water to the Trevethow Manor and to a reservoir in the village.
The existing water wheel, made by Harris Foundry in Wadebridge, was installed at that time and continued to pump water to Trevethow as late as the 1960s.
When the mill ceased to operate it became a riding stable. Then in the 1970s, it was restored and became a tea room. Since then, it has evolved into the delightful pub and restaurant you see today.
Sorry, we don't have any current events or offers for this pub.
|Mon||12:00 – 23:00|
|Tue||12:00 – 23:00|
|Wed||12:00 – 23:00|
|Thur||12:00 – 23:00|
|Fri||12:00 – 23:00|
|Sat||12:00 – 23:00|
|Sun||12:00 – 23:00|
Food at the Watermill
Something for everyone, The Watermill is a Pub & Restaurant with multiple personalities, popular with both locals and visitors for it’s warm welcome, good food, ales and wine.
Customers can choose to dine either in the charming pub area that features the original mill workings, or upstairs in the mill loft restaurant, an atmospheric space combining contemporary décor and furnishings with the old world architecture and open beamed roof. In fine weather dining in the delightful garden is extremely popular.
|Mon||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Tue||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Wed||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Thur||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Fri||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Sat||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
|Sun||12:00 – 14:30||17:30 – 20:30|
Ludgvan, Hayle, TR27
Lelant, St. Ives, TR26
Our wonderful pub was given its present name in 1975. Previously known as the The New Inn, Praed's Arms, then The Lelant Arms (1899-1975), it was considerably extended and modernised in 1900, becoming the building we know today.
Hayle, Cornwall, TR27