We pride ourselves in being a traditional British pub, open seven days a week serving a wide range of quality ales, wines and spirits as well as sandwiches at lunch time.
A warm welcome to The Curfew Inn, one of the few remaining traditional pubs in Bath. The building has seen many changes over its’ near 200 years of standing. It was built in the 1820s by accomplished local architect Henry Edmund Goodridge who also built The Dispensary opposite, the nearby Cleveland Bridge, The Corridor in town and the stunning Beckford’s Tower at Lansdown. In fact the novelist William Thomas Beckford appears on the original property deeds.
The building was originally a bookshop before becoming a wine merchants in 1837 and eventually a public house named The Curfew Inn around 1960. Since then it could be argued the pub has had an interesting history, possibly not being best known for its’ good food and decent beer. In fact, many would probably say that it is only since the current owners have taken over that the character of this Georgian pile has really started to emerge.
The ground floor has the feel of a traditional ale house, serving beer and ale from the Wadworth Brewery. It’s the perfect place for a pint after work.
Upstairs, three tall windows allow the light to flood into the high-ceilinged function room with its slate grey painted walls, gilt mirrors and wooden floors. The function room benefits from panoramic views over Cleveland Place allowing guests to watch the world go by.
We are open seven days a week serving sandwiches at lunch time and a wide range of quality ales, wines and spirits throughout.