Situated in Northumberland Place which leads off the High Street, is Bath's smallest pub The Coeur de Lion, originally known as Marchants Court, it was described by John Wood as "entirely new" in 1749.
Described as a gem, Bath's smallest pub is now open all day, good quality pub food (including Steak & Bellringer Pie) is served daily, and the pub features in Camra's Good Beer Guide.
One of the striking features of the Victorian pub, is a stained glass front window, and ironically, Devenish who were thwarted in their attempt to shut the pub- are featured on it. The Coeur is now thriving again, under the ownership of Bath's only brewery, Abbey Ales and still going strong. Devenish's however have ceased to exist.